SNAPSHOTS

06/11/2018

Our eyes are like cameras. If we really wanted to- blink once. Look forward and soak in the moment in front of you. Click, the snapshot is there.

I can remember a time when I stood at the back porch of Mount Vernon, George Washington's plantation house in DC. I was merely in 8th grade at the time, but getting back on the bus that day-the snapshot never really left my head. Now 20 years old (in grade whatever I am now), I have a "view master" in my head of all the views I wanted to remember, big and small. Sitting around the campfire with a group of FFA members in the SJ region of California, messing with pebbles in the soil while embracing the heat of the climate and near by embers. Standing on the coast of Palm Springs, dreading the walk back up to the hill toward our hotel but in awe by the vibrant flowers and water in site. And one of my favorites now, the edge of the Rockys, depicted in the picture above. Honestly, I'm incredibly speechless by what I have been able to see in 20 years of walking, breathing, living on God's green Earth. I'm grateful.

My teammate, Gracie Furnish of good old Kentucky, had said something I will never forget about this year of National FFA Office while driving toward a foundation visit in Tennesse:

"Everyday, we experience things that someone will experience in a week of their life, sometimes even a life time. It is incredible. I don't look back and regret a single thing I have done."

They say pictures are worth a thousand words, and this year we have traveled to so many incredible places-you can only image how many snapshots worth of memories there are. For this blog, I wanted to catch up those interested on the incredible perspective building snapshots of my life-hopefully around a thousand words or more. Honestly, sometimes words can't even do it justice, but I will try to depict these months the best I can, to where I was.

Here are some incredible snapshots from these past three or so months...


FEB.-JUNE SNAPSHOTS

     NEVADA STATE CONVENTION

          CHARLES CITY LEADERSHIP WORKSHOP



         MONTANA FFA STATE CONVENTION



      CALIFORNIA FFA STATE CONVENTION

  NEW JERSEY STATE FFA CONVENTION

   COLORADO STATE FFA CONVENTION

SOUTH CAROLINA STATE CONVENTION

What are your snapshots?

When you go through life, how do you choose to remember the memory? The feeling? The moment? We have all heard the term: "Time flies when your having fun." We have all said at some point every year: "man that flew by!" or "That seemed like it went by way too fast." Truly, everything does. We get older every year, things change, our responsibilities are elevated with every new chapter in our life (whether its graduating from school, finding jobs, moving out, trying to establish a foundation in your life). It is tough to keep it all together.

This year, of any year (even state office) has taught me this valuable lesson. My teammates and I have now traveled to more than 20+ states in the last 3-4 months, spreading our message of agriculture and passion for inclusivity to folks across the country. We have seen, heard, and noticed some exciting stuff. We have also witnessed some inspiring things, good or bad, that make us want to take action. And we have met folks who continue to inspire us, to fuel us, and completely flip our perception of "norm" forever. We have one story to tell, and a million ways we can tell it. We all have experiences and have met numerous people who add value into our life. How do we choose to remember each moment? How do make time for everyone we meet.

For me, I'm a big social media girl. I post pictures, use my stories as the eye piece into my life for other people, and I'm constantly commenting on others posts to keep that connection strong; maybe even keeping up a DM conversation. (Side note: I heard folks get paid big bucks to be social media experts at companies. I feel like most young adults are credible enough to accomplish this! #I'monthelookout #wherecanIgetmeone)

Even journaling or taking out a note section in your phone to remember a quote or phrase someone had said, which I do quite often, can help. Writing things down, in oppose to just saying them out loud-can aid in retaining these moments. It just depends on the person you are, but time should really never be a construct if a moment with a person or some type of experience means a lot to you.

Snapshots add value into our lives. They provide substances and make us smile when we really think back to them and say: "hey remember the time when...". Take the time to remember the time. Find a way to retain a memory because you really never know when you'll need it.

However, in all honesty, some words just can't justify a snapshot.

© 2017 Growing Leaders. Building Communities. Strengthening Agriculture.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started